Apple chips

20121201-161440.jpg

Whenever I discover something new, and I like it, I jump right in until I get sick of it.

With food, I get fixated on cooking techniques and end up doing it over and over.  Lately I’ve been preoccupied with dehydrating fruits and veggies, reviewing recipes and tips and everything in between.  Basically, if it can be turned into edible dried snacks, it will be done.  Today it was apple chips.

All you need are apples and lemon/lime. I don’t have a dehydrator but you really don’t need one if you have a perfectly working oven.

There’s a lot of variations with temperature/time and so far I’ve only tried one. Feel free to experiment with what works best for you. This recipe does take awhile so make sure to have things to be entertained with while you wait!  Also, you might want to consider making a large batch since you’ll be all prepped anyways 🙂

Apple Chips

2-3 apples (I prefer firm, crisp varieties like Gala)
1/2 lime or lemon
ground cinnamon (optional)

Parchment paper (highly recommended)
Cookie/baking sheet

**Fills 2 trays of standard-sized cookie sheet.

  1. Cut your apples to about 1/8″ or the thickness of a coin, unpeeled and uncored. I leave the core in but pick out the seeds as I slice them. I found that this keeps the shape better. Besides, it’s less work!
  2. Toss apple slices in lemon or like juice. This will help keep them from browning.
  3. If using, sprinkle some ground cinnamon. Some recipes also call for sprinkling of sugar but honestly, you don’t need it.
  4. Lay the slices out on a baking sheet lines with parchment paper. This makes clean up much easier and the paper also soaks up moisture from the apples while in the oven.
  5. Bake at 170F or the lowest setting in your oven for 1 hour. Turn off the heat and let the apples sit in residual heat for another 1 hour. If using a dehydrator, follow the corresponding instructions.
  6. Crank up the temperature to 250F and bake the apples for 20-30 mins, or until crisped to perfection.  Baking time will ultimately depend on the thickness of your slices.
  7. Let cool on a rack to ensure maximum crispness, then place in a tight lid container.

I can’t tell you how long they’ll last because I, uhm, ate them ALL before I could store them. Lol!  My guess is they’ll last a while.

Best eaten on their own or add to your cereal, crunch for a salad, crushed and sprinkled on top of desserts, or as a topping for ice cream.

Let me know how yours turn out 🙂

4 thoughts on “Apple chips

Leave a Reply

